Food, finds and some PA DIY!

I managed to snap a few shots of some of the food I ate while in PA.  In central PA, where I was staying, there aren’t many options for vegans/vegetarians if you want to go out to eat.  Luckily there’s the college town of Lewisburg that has a cafe with two vegan lunch options.  Cherry Alley Cafe used to have some amazing burritos!  Vegan and all!  I was really disappointed to find that they did away with awesome-burrito.  They did have some vegan cookies though.  I used to always get their iced chai tea with soy milk too.  The barista there was actually kind enough to tell me that the chai mix isn’t vegan.  Boo!!  I’m assuming there’s dry milk in it.  Make your own chai mix, Cherry Alley!  Some spices and some grinding and BAM!…chai tea.

My mom did take me to a grocery store to stock up on some avocados, tofu and refried beans though!  I usually live on bean burritos when I travel!

IMG_2659

Travel food. Beans, avocado and hot sauce.

IMG_2660

Root beer Italian ice! Rita’s is an east coast thing. I miss it!

IMG_2677

Cherry Alley does have fun tables. I made that same face when I found out the chai tea mix isn’t vegan.

IMG_2678

Tofu wrap!

IMG_2784

And a grilled vegetable panini. The so kindly put cheese on this even though I asked for no cheese. They made me another one, but Cherry Alley kind of let me down! The birch beer in the background did not though!

IMG_2816

More Italian ice! This time it was lemonade.

IMG_2895

My aunt usually makes me something vegan when I’m in Pennsylvania visiting. This time she made me chocolate chip blondies and a chocolate cake with chocolate icing! I DID NOT eat all of that by myself. Although I could have.

IMG_2990

After Eric picked me up from the airport we went to Bamboo Garden. We always go to Bamboo Garden after he picks me up or we pick someone up from the airport. It’s a nice little tradition.

IMG_2991

Bamboo Garden!

IMG_2676

There’s an antique mall/flea market that I love in Lewisburg, PA called, The Street of Shops. I squealed inside when I saw these lamps there! You might remember that I found a similar turtle lamp in a thrift store a few months ago. I wanted to take all of them home, but I knew I couldn’t. I snagged that little dinosaur lamp in the back. I didn’t have room to take him on the plane with me so I packaged him up as well as I could and my sister shipped him back to me. The package should arrive early this week and I’m hoping his little glass back didn’t break!

Remember my turtle lamp?

IMG_2899

My dad and I had some time to work on a project for the wedding! I wanted to make some glass Ball jar cups so the wedding guests can take them home with them. I found bright yellow and white straws to put in these guys.

IMG_2901

Dad punched a hole in the lid.

IMG_2902

And I drilled the hole out! We then fished rubber grommets through the hole that the straws will later be placed in.

IMG_2904

We made 36 Ball jar cups in about 45 minutes! Fun PA DIY!

Categories: Pennsylvania, Restaurants, Vegan Food | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Food, finds and some PA DIY!

  1. Love the DIY jars as wedding favors! This is a great idea.

  2. Mason jars awesomely iconic. I love to use them for drink glasses and I sometimes I put salad in the extra large ones. Great wedding favor idea. 🙂

  3. Those jars are awesome!! I’ve only been to PA once, but I would love to go back!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

