Donuts, more food, and walking off that food!

IMG_1917

This chubby little thing greeted us after getting out of the car for some Saturday morning donuts at Mighty O.

IMG_1919

One donut for each hand. I don’t mess around. Peanut butter and orange blossom! I’m on level 2 of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred…I deserve donuts!

IMG_1921

I spotted this gem after leaving the donut shop. I saw it, stopped the car and put it in reverse. There are a ton of these Little Free Libraries popping up all over Seattle AND the states! Look them up to find a Little Free Library near you!

IMG_1925

The Little Free Libraries are free, of course, or a leave one take one deal. I’m going to start carrying some books in my car so I can trade books if I find something I like!

IMG_1927

In Fremont there’s a vintage shop we like to check out once in a while. We usually find some interesting items, but I’m also usually too cheap. We picked up a bag of groceries and since we didn’t have enough food already, we went to Bamboo Garden for some lunch! I always seem to get their creamy corn chowder.

IMG_1928

Mongolian beef! 100% vegan too!

IMG_1930

After stuffing our faces we needed a walk. We ventured around Discovery Park for about an hour. I was sleepy, but I kept on truckin’.

IMG_1935

Fort Lawton is in Discovery Park and used to be a missile base. There are some houses that are still lived in by Army personnel. That big ‘ol white thing in the background is a radar tower.

IMG_1936

Discovery Park is huge. Five hundred thirty four acres huge! The park is in decent condition, but it could use some loving. Parts of the park are paved paths and some are just dirt. There’s a lighthouse that you can walk to which we did not do this time. I think we it gets a little sunnier and warmer we’ll take the long walk to the beach and lighthouse!

IMG_1939

That tree wasn’t messing around!

IMG_1943

We’re getting more sun an blue skies! I can’t wait until I don’t have to wear a jacket and socks. I hate socks.

IMG_1944

These are old parts of the base that aren’t lived in or used any more. I wish you could walk through the buildings. I get that you can’t leave them open all the time, but having them open at certain times would be nice!

IMG_1949

This fun building was the gymnasium!

IMG_1951

And a church on the base was poking through the trees.

IMG_1952

If you’re in Seattle and haven’t been to Discovery Park, you should definitely check it out! But be cautious…tiny plants grow by the inch BUT die by the foot! What a zinger!

Categories: Restaurants, Seattle | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Donuts, more food, and walking off that food!

  1. Those little free libraries are awesome! I have been thinking a lot about how to start one of those up here… hmmm… Imma have to do me some research!

  2. Yay for free libraries. We have those popping up in Atlanta too.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

