Pier and Market Day.

It was supposed to be sunny on Saturday. If the fog and clouds weren’t hanging on I bet it would have been sunny! We do know how to make the most of a sunless day though.

IMG_1623

I rode the Ferris Wheel this past summer when it was sunny. You could see Mt. Rainier, the Space Needle and the Cascades. I can’t imagine a Ferris Wheel ride on a cloudy day would be super fun.

IMG_1626

Here’s the real reason for a trip to the Pier!

IMG_1628

Under the Ferris Wheel on Pier 57 there is a wonderful carousel! I do love me some carousels. My favorite one is the Grand Carousel at Knoebel’s Amusement Park in Pennsylvania. They have gorgeous hand-carved wooden horses, that I think are 100 years old. Even though the carousel horses in Seattle are fiberglass, they are gorgeous just the same.

I recently backed a project on Kickstarter to help restore the world’s only Cowboy and Indian Carousel.  The carousel is in Buffalo, Wyoming.  The project WAS funded!  Eric and I are planning to visit the carousel this summer on our drive back to Pennsylvania.

IMG_1635

We watched the carousel for a bit before deciding that we should ride it too.

IMG_1653

Giddy up!

IMG_1655

I love how gaudy the horses always are.

IMG_1657

There is a horse with similar armour at the Knoebel’s carousel. When I was a youngin’ I thought it looked like a seahorse. No seahorse…just some armour.

IMG_1658

Eric’s horse.

IMG_1659

My horse. Hello, Beautiful!

IMG_1663

I think Eric and I were the only adults on the carousel. I have no shame!

IMG_1669

I picked a wild horse for the ride!

IMG_1677

It actually wasn’t too busy around the Pier so we decided to head up to the market.

IMG_1680

And up through Post Alley.

IMG_1682

Post Alley is famous for this.

IMG_1684

Nasty wall.

IMG_1690

The market was oddly not busy. We were able to snap some film shots too! And…no people were in the shots. Sometimes you just want a humanless shot.

IMG_1691

I like the naked Trick or Treat kitty ladies.

IMG_1694

Market time.

IMG_1695

Cinnamon Works sells massive vegan cookies. Look how big they are! They also sell vegan muffins aaaaaannnd vegan cinnamon rolls! We couldn’t say no to a cinnamon roll.

IMG_1704

On the way back to the car, look who we saw walking down the tracks.

IMG_1706

Oh my goodness look at that cute little guy! You usually don’t see raccoons out during the day, but he really seemed like he knew what he was doing. He quickly and safely crossed the road and hopped in the water. I have a feeling he comes out during the day because he gets many sweets and goods from tourists. Pier and Market success for everyone!

Categories: Restaurants, Seattle | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Pier and Market Day.

  1. I love carousels! Awesome photos!

  2. What an awesome post! I wish I could join you at the market one day. I think it looks AWESOME! The gum wall is CRAZY and slightly disgusting too. HAHA!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

