My year of reading.

It takes me forever to read a book.  I made a goal at the beginning of this year to read at least one book a month.  While I didn’t end up reading one book a month I did read way more books than I did last year!  I finished eight books!  Two of them were rather short, but I’m counting them anyway!  Here’s what I read.

Feel Good Reads (Mostly Feel Good actually.)

  • Black Heels to Tractor Wheels by Ree Drummond
  • Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Bold Spirit: Helga Estby’s Forgotten Walk Across Victorian America by Linda Lawrence Hunt

Black Heels to Tractor Wheels is the story about how Ree Drummond met and fell in love with her husband.  He is a cowboy and she talks about his boots and chaps quite a bit, so obviously I liked it!  I have romanticised the west and cowboy culture.  It is basically the opposite of a vegan lifestyle, but I grew up riding horses and loving cowboys.  I have cowboy boots and I just purchased a resin longhorn cow skull wall hanging.  Read the book though!  It’s a fun love story without being too dramatic and sappy.  I don’t do sappy.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read Eat Pray Love, but I went for it.  I actually loved most of it!  I really liked her description of the countries she visited and I could kind of relate to some of her emotional breakdowns.  The book was supposed to be about her journey to find herself after a rough divorce and depression.  What I did not not NOT like about it was that she already had a book deal before she set out on her journey to find herself.  That kind of ruins it for me.  If she went on this journey and then wrote about and it was picked up fine, but I kind of feel duped.  She even wrote in the book how she had this book deal.  Just leave that out and I would have been fine, but the whole time reading the book after she let us in on that little tid bit…that’s all I could think of!  Read it, but be warned!

Bold Spirit is fantastic!  Two inspiring women walking across America to support their family…love it!  But it really doesn’t have a happy ending.  There were tears rolling down my face by the end of it.  This book should be on your “to read” list, but be prepared for some tears!

 

IMG_0994

Scary Reads

  • Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer
  • Cycle of the Werewolf by Stephen King
  • Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

Under the Banner of Heaven is included with the Scary Reads, because it is scary!  It will make you glad that you weren’t raised as a Fundamentalist Mormon.  There are many heart breaking stories in the book and a lot of great history about the Mormon Religion.  It’s totally worth a read if you’re interested in religions.

Cycle of the Werewolf was actually the first Stephen King book I read!  It was a really short read with pictures too!  It made me want to read a longer Stephen King book.  Suggestions?

The book, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter is SOO good!  But the movie nonono is not!  It’s completely different from the book and I don’t know why.  The book was so good that there was so reason to change it so much.  The book is always better than the movie, but I don’t think you can say that with this book, but because it’s just not even close to being the same story.  And the vampires in the book are mostly traditional vampires that don’t sparkle.  Thank the Lord!

IMG_0995

Fun Reads

  • Scandalous Women by Elizabeth Kerri Mahon
  • Not Stray by Wai Au

I bought Not Stray on Etsy.  I mostly bought it because it was a cute little book about ghost kitties with a screen printed cover.  Ghost kitties!  What more do I have to tell you!?  Read it!

Scandalous Women is a collection of some famous women in history.  My favorite gal, Calamity Jane, makes an appearance in the book!  Each women has about 8-10 pages dedicated to her.  I told Eric that I was trying to make it through one woman a night!  Yowzer.  I actually haven’t finished this book, but I will by tomorrow!  I do like this book because of the brief overviews of so many women.  I’ve heard about most of them, but I couldn’t really tell you anything about them.  Except for that loud mouth Calamity Jane!

IMG_0997

Have you read any of these books or do you want to read any of them?  What have you read this year?  I’m going to try to read some travel memoirs, westerns and books about living in the Pacific Northwest this year!  So far on my list I have…There’s a Seal in my Sleeping Bag and True Grit.  I also have a copy of Hunger Games that someone gave that I promised I would read.  I’m kind of meh about reading it, but I’ve heard it’s a good read from a few good sources so I am going to give it an honest try!  What else should I be reading in 2013?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “My year of reading.

  1. Turpintine~ Spring Warren
    Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest~Cheryl Strayed
    The Snow Child~Eowyn Ivey

    A few of my Favorites 🙂 I’m going to read Scandalous Women and Bold Spirit as soon as I can 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Among others, I read: Are Other People Hanging Out Without Me? And Other Concerns by Mindy Kaling which was a very funny and light read 🙂 I’d recommend it.

    • I actually saw a few months ago that you talked about that book on your blog! I asked for, and received, that book for Christmas! I love Mindy!

  3. brugg

    did you start reading it yet?? that book literally had me laughing out loud so many times.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

