A Thanksgiving test run.

I saw a recipe similar to this in the current VegNews magazine. It reminded me of something my Grandma used to make called Hot Lettuce with Bacon Dressing. Maybe that’s not exactly what it was called…but it’s something similar to that!

She used to make a mixture of I think vinegar, sugar, salt, pepper and an egg…warm that on the stove and then pour it over shredded lettuce and bacon. I used brussels sprouts instead of lettuce. I painstakingly pulled the leaves of each sprout apart. Then I roasted the leaves and made a mixture of apple cider vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper and poured that over the brussels sprouts leaves. I cut up tempeh bacon and mixed everything together and put it back in the oven for a few minutes. It’s nothing like what grandma used to make, but it kind of hit the spot!

Pre-Thanksgiving success!

Brussels sprouts and tempeh bacon!

Categories: Homemade | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Thanksgiving test run.

  1. You’ve inspired me to cook the brussels sprouts I have in the fridge! Yay!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

