Homemade vegan Oreos!

Let's start with this. Juniper has found her new favorite spot. She just starting sitting on the record player today. You're freaking me out kitten!

 

I decided to try a recipe for vegan Oreos tonight.

 

I used the recipe from "Vegan Cookies Take Over Your Cookie Jar." You might be saying to yourself...Hey. She's sure been baking a lot lately. Yes I have been. And why? I made a deal with someone. If someone would print and incredibly obnoxious order for me at work I would bake him something once a week for a month. I'm keeping my promise and we're on week two!!

 

I started by mixing my shortening and sugar together. My trusty KitchenAid is awesome!

 

Mix mix mix!

 

And then I added my dry ingredients.

 

While the cookies were baking I spied on Juniper.

 

Here's a baked cookie. My Silpat is still fantastic!

 

I was waiting for more cookies to bake so I spied on Juniper and Eric again. Juniper is right at home on that record player!

 

I mixed up the sugary filling for the cookies.

 

And then I rolled out a small piece of filling with my hands.

 

I placed the filling on a cookie.

 

And then I put another cookie on top of it.

 

And just like that!...We have vegan Oreos. The chocolate cookie is softer than a real Oreo, but the flavor of the cookie and the filling is spot on! I'm magical!

 

Happy baking!!

Categories: Baking, Cookies, Homemade, Vegan Food | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade vegan Oreos!

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz

    That book is one of my favorite cookbooks that I own. I haven’t made the vegan oreos from it yet though, but they look amazing!

  2. I think I like the “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” book a little better. This one is great too though!

    They also just released a pie book… “Vegan Pie in the Sky.” I’m excited for that one!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

